Thursday, July 13, 2017

Object-Oriented Programming Analysis and Design

Object-Oriented analysis and Design (OOAD): 
  - The concept of object-oriented analysis and design has already been discussed in the previous module.  

    The object-oriented analysis and design is divided into two phases - OOA (Object-oriented analysis) and OOD ( Object Oriented Design).

  1. The analysis phases considers the system as a solution to a problem in its environment or domain.
  2. In the analysis phase, the users and the developers of the system get together and arrive at a common understanding of the system.
  3. In the design phase, The developers of the system document there understanding of the system.
  4. In the design phase, the classes and attributes are identified.     

Now, Time to learn Software life-cycle Development : 
  - Software development life cycle (SDLC), as described by Grady Booch, James  and Jacobson consists of four phases that any software intensive system undergoes. They are briefly described below :

(1) Inception :  This stage involves the following activities :
  1. This is first phase of the SDLC process. The idea of a new system is envisaged at this stage.
  2. Specifying the scope, objects and requirements of the system software. 
  3. Specifying the estimates of the resources needed. 
  4. Planning a schedule of major milestones in the project.
  5. Creating an prototype of the system that serves as proof of understanding the user requirements.
(2) Elaboration :  This is the second phase of the SDLC process. The system vision and architecture are defined at this stage. The system requirements are also expressed and documents. 
        The stage involves the following activities : 
  1. Elaborating the system specification obtained from the inception phase. 
  2. Analyzing the problem domain.
  3. Describing the system requirements by creating a model of the system.
  4. Capturing various requirements the projects.
  5. Developing the project plan.
(3)  Construction : This is the phase of the SDLC process. The software is coded to form an executable base, which is ready to be deployed. The software is constantly tested to check whether it meets the system requirements. 
    The stage involves the following activities : 
  1. Elaborating the solution specification obtained from the elaborations phase.
  2. Building and developing the software system.
  3. Completing implementation and testing of the software system.
  4. Interactively and incrementally modifying/extending the software system based on test results.

(4) Transition : This is the last phase of the SDLC process.The software is handed over to the end-user and is tested for defects. Defects identified are then documented and corrected. 

     The stages involves the following activities :
  1. Integrating the software system.
  2. Delivering the software system.
  3. Deploying the software system.
  4. Correcting problems that may get detected during or after deployment of the software system.        



Post a Comment